Poetry in Language Learning: Mother Tongue Other Tongue

Wow!  I have goosebumps and a small tear in my eye…

Take a watch of this video and tell me that it doesn’t make you feel proud to be a language teacher.

Such a simple idea but so powerful and motivating for learners and a great way to show pupils how much we learn ALL languages to just the modern languages which they may be fortunate to study in schools.

And a great way of promoting productive skills of writing in the target language for a real purpose.

I am UTTERLY inspired and commend the work of Routes into Languages, one of the fews organisations remaining after the huge government cull of support for languages in England.

Long may they remain!

Suzi @ Polly Glot Languages

You may also be interested to view Poetry in MFL post on my other site

Leave a comment